What I learned in my time away

October 12, 2007 at 9:44 am 2 comments

white flowers

I recently stepped away from this blog for a couple of months. Looking back, I wonder how I ever found the time to spend here in the first place. The minutes that had been allocated to blogging were filled with other things almost immediately, like water rushing in to fill a canyon and soon obscuring what lies below. Time is finite, and whether we realize it or not, we’re constantly making choices with every minute that goes by.

Don’t get me wrong: this space has been a labor of love, and I’m not leaving it behind. I’ll continue to post, albeit infrequently, and I’ll drop in now and then to visit the wonderful bloggers I’ve discovered.

However, I won’t be spending as much time here.

Like everyone, I have responsibilities. I have hobbies I take pleasure in. There are also a multitude of things I’d like to learn, places I’d like to visit, and people I’d like to spend more time with. Improving my mind, honing my skills, trying new things, and lending a hand in the community are important to me. In short, my ambitions are far greater than the available hours in the day.

Do you ever experience this conflict? Do the things you love compete against each other for your attention and your time? Do you wonder how you’ll ever fit a new interest into your day?

I think it’s a struggle that every individual faces and deals with in their own way.

Entry filed under: blogging, happiness, life, my photos. Tags: , , , , .

Crisis in Burma What’s the worst that could happen?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nicola  |  October 20, 2007 at 9:41 am

    My summer has been very similar to this – I have had so much other stuff to do – like work and family that has meant blogging has had to take second place – or even third for a while.

    I have also found it difficult to get back into the full swing of things as well – so am now an occasional blogger as opposed to a daily blogger.

    Reply
  • 2. dailypiglet  |  October 22, 2007 at 7:14 pm

    i’ve been writing for about two years. it’s something that i’ve always wanted to do and for the most part always have. mostly in private writing journals.

    there are always a ton of other things to do and i have to try and balance my time wisely. mostly i use my writing as an exercise that i try to do each day in hopes that i improve. i learn many things by writing and blogging.

    i think each person has different reasons for blogging and reading blogs that is very personal and unique and isn’t to be held up as a template for others. it comes down to what your intention is and it sounds like you are in tune with that.

    i’ll miss your frequency but will check in on you from time to time and wish you well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Iced Mocha

Celebrating life, knowledge, laughter, inspiration, and goodwill.

Feeds

Top Posts

Archives



madeonamac20050720.gif

Flickr -Kittens

Check the cutest kittens: http://thecaturday.us

Check the cutest kittens: http://thecaturday.us

London

Check the cutest kittens: http://thecaturday.us

Check the cutest kittens: http://thecaturday.us

Check the cutest kittens: http://thecaturday.us

Check the cutest kittens: http://thecaturday.us

Scruffy (2)

Cali (3) primary photo

Peeps (2)

More Photos

RSS Saved in Ma.gnolia

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Pages

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

