Book meme

July 6, 2007 at 8:33 am 6 comments

I saw this at Quantum Leaps and since I love to read, I decided to participate. If the meme appeals to you, please feel free to carry it forward on your blog.

What’s Your Preference?

1. Novel or novella?
Although I enjoy novellas now and then, they’re over too quickly for my liking. I prefer the longer and more involved experience of a novel. I like to become completely immersed in a story and really get to know the characters.

2. Hardback or paperback?
I like hardbacks best, by far, followed by the large trade paperbacks. I dislike mass market paperbacks and try to avoid them if at all possible.

3. Male authors or female authors?
Makes absolutely no difference to me, as long as they are good at their craft.

4. Fiction or non-fiction?
I read and enjoy both. I’d say about 60% fiction, 40% non-fiction, mixed up for variety and to suit my mood. I’m a fast reader, so it is easy to achieve a good balance of entertainment and education.

5. Bestseller or obscure title?
Both, of course. I have nothing against bestsellers, although I’m occasionally guilty of avoiding a book if it seems over-hyped. I love finding off-the-beaten-track books as well.

6. Local bookstore or chain franchise?
Honestly, I don’t buy a lot of books. I’m a library girl. I couldn’t possibly afford my habit if I bought them all. I buy only the books that I love enough to read more than once or that I would want to loan to friends. When I do buy books, it’s generally online through Amazon or Barnes & Noble. There are very few local bookstores left in my town.

7. Read the book first or see the movie first?
If time allows, I’ll read the book first. This practically guarantees that I’ll have issues with the film, but I like to enjoy a book as a fresh experience, without knowing the outcome in advance. I try to approach the film as a distinct interpretation of the material so that I don’t expect perfect fidelity with the book.

8. How many books do you read in a week? A year?
I read one or two books a week, year-round.

Entry filed under: books, fun, learn, meme.

Our country Progress

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. PRETTY IN THE CITY  |  July 6, 2007 at 12:41 pm

    I think, reading the book first is more enjoyable. Because movie is just a short version of book. Movie doesn’t explore the story as detail as in a book.

    Reply
  • 2. J.S. Peyton  |  July 6, 2007 at 1:34 pm

    Hi! Just passing through and wanted to say I love that meme! It seems we agree on almost everything except that I’m definitely a book-buyer. I always think that the idea of library books is great. Then I remember I have to give them back (and in a timely manner too) and my appreciation plummets. I like to keep my books, which is why, sadly, the library and I parted ways a while back. And no, I don’t have enough money to support my addiction. I think I may need counseling. : )

    Reply
  • 3. Doktor Holocaust  |  July 7, 2007 at 4:00 pm

    stealing this!

    Reply
  • 4. Sonja  |  July 8, 2007 at 1:18 am

    I used to buy a lot of books at Barnes and Noble, and at Borders, until I discovered the book trading websites like Bookmooch, Frugal Reader, and PaperbackSwap. All the traded books I have ever received have looked either like new, or lovingly read. All it costs you is the postage to send your book to someone else (usually between $2.13 and $2.47 for the cheap book rate, depending on weight); when a book is sent to you then the sender pays the postage.

    Also I buy the USED books through individual vendors at amazon.com. I bought a hardcover book I wanted for 1 penny the other day (postage was $3.99, but the book was new!) Again, all the books I’ve ever gotten from these vendors were pristine!

    I’m with you about the library though. If it’s a book I know I don’t want to own, I put a hold on it through the internet, then just pick it up when it’s ready.

    Reply
  • 5. janegirl  |  July 11, 2007 at 8:50 am

    Books are just all around fan-tab-ulous! I read about two a week as well. I don’t think there are enough books, is my personal opinion.

    heart. mckenzie.

    Reply
  • 6. LindaC  |  July 13, 2007 at 11:29 pm

    I read voraciously and had to share this site. I love it… but you have to use the advanced search to dig in and find stuff… lol
    http://www.bookcloseouts.com/

    🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Iced Mocha

Celebrating life, knowledge, laughter, inspiration, and goodwill.

Feeds

Top Posts

Archives



madeonamac20050720.gif

Flickr -Kittens

Check the cutest kittens: http://thecaturday.us

Check the cutest kittens: http://thecaturday.us

Check the cutest kittens: http://thecaturday.us

Check the cutest kittens: http://thecaturday.us

Check the cutest kittens: http://thecaturday.us

London

Srrento

Check the cutest kittens: http://thecaturday.us

Check the cutest kittens: http://thecaturday.us

Check the cutest kittens: http://thecaturday.us

More Photos

RSS Saved in Ma.gnolia

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Pages

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

