Monday Melee 5/07

May 7, 2007 at 6:49 am 5 comments

meleesmall.jpgThe Monday Melee is a Fracas project. You’re invited to participate. Get details and see the participant list here.

The Misanthropic: Name something you absolutely hate.
Laziness and apathy. Why vote? It won’t matter. Why recycle or conserve energy? I’m only one person. Why donate? I can only spare $5. Well, I say: It matters. One person is a start. Every little bit helps. If we all get it in gear and do something, it’ll make a big difference.

The Meretricious: Expose something or someone that’s phony, fraudulent, or bogus.
“…since September of last year – when Congress wrongly, foolishly, passed the Military Commissions Act of 2006 – the president has the power to call any US citizen an ‘enemy combatant’. He has the power to define what ‘enemy combatant’ means. The president can also delegate to anyone he chooses in the executive branch the right to define ‘enemy combatant’ any way he or she wants and then seize Americans accordingly.”
source:
Guardian Unlimited

The Malcontent: Name something you’re unhappy with.
I’m not as efficient as I’d like to be. There’s so much I want to accomplish, and I often get to the end of the day with too many items left undone.

The Meritorious: Give someone credit for something and name it if you can.
My bold and adventurous sister is embarking on a summer internship in a foreign country. I admire the way she goes after her dreams with spirit and determination.

The Mirror: See something good about yourself and name it.
I have a quick mind and a good sense of humor. I think a hearty laugh is downright good for you, and I look for opportunities to brighten someone’s day.

The Make-Believe: Name something you wish for.
I fervently wish that, one day, my kids will love reading as much as I do. It’s on my make-believe list because I’m beginning to fear it isn’t going to happen. I wouldn’t be the person I am without the insights and knowledge gained from books. I hate to see them miss out.

Entry filed under: activism, behavior, books, charity, environment, government, humor, kids, monday melee.

Illiterati Asian Art

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nicola  |  May 7, 2007 at 9:06 am

    As usual a great list – hang on in there with number five – they get there eventually – even dyslexic 23 year old sons!

    Reply
  • 2. Daisy Cat  |  May 7, 2007 at 11:09 am

    Completely agree with the point about apathy – it seems to be a sign of our times. Does that make me sound old?

    Reply
  • 3. mac  |  May 7, 2007 at 11:44 am

    Reading books is fast becoming a dying art. Pray for a renaissance!

    I’ve enjoyed getting to know you. Stay in touch.

    Reply
  • 4. dailypiglet  |  May 7, 2007 at 10:18 pm

    great list. i didn’t come into my love for reading until after school…. and now, i cannot get enough books 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. icedmocha  |  May 9, 2007 at 10:32 am

    Nicola, dailypiglet – thanks for the encouraging words. I’ll keep my fingers crossed.

    Daisy Cat – no, it doesn’t make you sound old at all; just aware.

    Thanks, mac. Best regards to you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Iced Mocha

Celebrating life, knowledge, laughter, inspiration, and goodwill.

Feeds

Top Posts

Archives



madeonamac20050720.gif

Flickr -Kittens

RSS Saved in Ma.gnolia

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Pages

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

