Monday Melee 3/26

March 26, 2007 at 7:10 am 4 comments

meleesmall.jpgThe Monday Melee is a Fracas project. You’re invited to participate. Get details and see the participant list here.

The Misanthropic: Name something you absolutely hate.
“Everyone else is doing it” justification. It is routinely employed to excuse all sorts of questionable behavior: lying, cheating, negative campaigning, racism, greed, bribes, double standards, driving gas guzzlers, taking unfair advantage, doing anything it takes to win, etc. If you have to make an excuse like this for doing something, you probably shouldn’t do it. Sadly, you don’t often encounter this phrase as a reason to do something good. I’d like to hear people say: I’m behaving ethically…standing up for what I believe in…donating to charity…spending quality time with my kids…doing volunteer work…honoring my commitments…because everyone else is doing it.

The Meretricious: Expose something or someone that’s phony, fraudulent, or bogus.
It seems to me that refusing to testify under oath is admitting that you don’t intend to tell the truth.

The Malcontent: Name something you’re unhappy with.
My memory isn’t nearly as sharp as it used to be. Back in the day (as my son would say) I was able to effortlessly remember just about everything: phone numbers, credit card and account numbers, names, birthdays, facts and trivia, song lyrics, and so on. Now, I rely heavily on note-taking and my trusty PDA.

The Meritorious: Give someone credit for something and name it if you can.
“Putting his money where his environmentalist mouth is, Prince Charles is swapping gas-guzzling private planes and helicopters for commercial flights, train journeys and biodiesel cars. A longtime champion of green causes, the heir to the throne says action is needed now to avoid leaving a ruined planet to the next generation.” source: CBS News

The Mirror: See something good about yourself and name it.
I don’t let the fact that I don’t know how to do something stop me; instead I view it as a good reason to learn. New technology, new ways of doing things, new theories? Bring it on.

The Make-Believe: Name something you wish for.
I wish I could enable my kids to clearly see the future consequences of their actions and decisions and act accordingly. Of course, if they could do this, they wouldn’t be kids, would they?

Entry filed under: activism, behavior, environment, government, kids, learn, life, monday melee.

Brief time in the sun What’s really in pet food?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. fracas  |  March 26, 2007 at 9:42 am

    Love your #1, 5 and 6!! Fretting about #6 is partly what causes #3. LOL

    Reply
  • 2. icedmocha  |  March 26, 2007 at 9:58 am

    Isn’t that the truth? I seem to spend an inordinate amount of time and mental energy on those sweet boys of mine.

    Reply
  • 3. Nicola  |  March 26, 2007 at 2:18 pm

    I am with you on three – I am finding it more difficult to remember names, faces and numbers. I do wonder if it is because I have got out of the habit ( ie using the computer or PDA) that has contributed to it though.

    Reply
  • 4. Gracie  |  March 27, 2007 at 12:08 am

    Great post, Iced Mocha. I’m with you and Nicola on number 3 – for me it’s simply the age – ouch.

    “It seems to me that refusing to testify under oath is admitting that you don’t intend to tell the truth.”

    Makes sense, doesn’t it unless you’re part of the Bush Administration . Go figure.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Iced Mocha

Celebrating life, knowledge, laughter, inspiration, and goodwill.

Feeds

Top Posts

Archives



madeonamac20050720.gif

Flickr -Kittens

Check the cutest kittens: http://thecaturday.us

Good Luck, Precious Babies

Check the cutest kittens: http://thecaturday.us

Cats and Coffee

Check the cutest kittens: http://thecaturday.us

Check the cutest kittens: http://thecaturday.us

Check the cutest kittens: http://thecaturday.us

Check the cutest kittens: http://thecaturday.us

Check the cutest kittens: http://thecaturday.us

Lynx kittens

More Photos

RSS Saved in Ma.gnolia

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Pages

March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

