You’re not the boss of me

January 19, 2007 at 7:15 am 7 comments

I’m an avid reader. I read fiction and nonfiction, across a wide swath of genres. I’m rarely seen without a book in close proximity. Consequently, I get quite a few invitations to participate in book groups. I turn them down, every time.

Give me an hour in a library, and I’ll stagger up to the check-out counter with a pile of tomes. Recommend a great book you’ve read, and I’ll swiftly add it to my never-ending queue of must reads. Start a conversation about a book we’ve both read and I’ll join in. But assign a book and tell me to read it by a certain date. No thanks.

I often wonder why. Apparently, I cannot be happy about reading unless I am free to choose what to read and when to read it. And although I rarely abandon a book once I’ve started, being at liberty to do so without incurring the disapproval of the book club maven is apparently a cornerstone of my existence.

One day, I may succeed in raising contrariness to an art form.

Entry filed under: behavior, books, life.

Yee-haw The doctor is in

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sulz  |  January 19, 2007 at 9:47 am

    hey, that’s my story you’re telling too! i love my literature classes, but a lot of the texts i have to read i ended up disliking them, and i think i wouldn’t have if given the chance to read it on my own.

    then again i wouldn’t have chosen such highbrow stuff to read on my own, so perhaps it’s not my genre?

    but till this day i cannot read the pearl by john steinbeck. i loved studying for literature, but it spoilt that for me.

    http://sulz.daria.be

    Reply
  • 2. Nicola  |  January 19, 2007 at 10:21 am

    It is a control thing 😉

    Reply
  • 3. Bice  |  January 19, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    You free-spirits just can’t be bridled can you?

    Reply
  • 4. Dave  |  January 19, 2007 at 4:07 pm

    Some would say contrariness is modern art.

    The artist says, I will not be bound by your definition of art… this Madonna covered in feces.. yes this is art.

    Me? I prefer the masters and think “modern art” stinks.

    And I while I mainly lurk in the Sci-Fi/Fantasy aisles of the bookstore I am not afraid to venture out into the other aisles and browse, sometimes stopping to sample, like picking fruit in an orchard.

    Reply
  • 5. bwithers  |  January 19, 2007 at 4:18 pm

    My favorite author changes several time a year. Currently I am really in to Greg Iles. If you haven’t read him he’s worth checking out.

    Reply
  • 6. Gracie  |  January 20, 2007 at 4:16 pm

    Wow, I could have written every single word. Like you, once I start a book, I feel the need to finish it although I don’t know why unless as a courtesy to the writer.

    Are you familiar with this site?

    http://www.librarything.com/

    If not, check it out

    Reply
  • 7. icedmocha  |  January 20, 2007 at 4:23 pm

    Gracie – yes. I love LibraryThing. Take a look at this post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Iced Mocha

Celebrating life, knowledge, laughter, inspiration, and goodwill.

Feeds

Top Posts

Archives



madeonamac20050720.gif

Flickr -Kittens

RSS Saved in Ma.gnolia

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Pages

January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

